Working Group

The Afya Bora Fellowship is overseen by a Working Group consisting of representatives from the schools of medicine, nursing, and public health in the eight Consortium universities. The Working Group constantly monitors, evaluates, and revises the elements of the Fellowship, depending on input from the Fellows and faculty, as well as evaluations conducted by our independent M & E contractor, I TECH (International Training and Education Consortium for Health).

DIRECTOR

Farquhar

Carey Farquhar, MD, MPH

Director
Professor, Departments of Medicine, Epidemiology, and Global Health
Director, Kenya Research Training Center
School of Medicine and School of Public Health
University of Washington
cfarq@u.washington.edu

CO-DIRECTOR

Mashalla

Yohana Mashalla, MD, PhD

Co-director
Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences
Professor, Department of Physiology School of Medicine
University of Botswana
yohana.mashalla@mopipi.ub.bw

WORKING GROUP MEMBERS

 

BOTSWANA

Esther Seloilwe, RN, PhD

Professor, School of Nursing
University of Botswana
seloilwe@mopipi.ub.bw

 

CAMEROON

Gregory Halle Ekane

Gregory Halle Ekane, MBChB, MD

Vice Dean for Research and Cooperation
Faculty of Health Sciences
University of Buea
hallegregory@yahoo.fr

Sylvester Ndeso Atanga

Sylvester Ndeso Atanga, MPH, PhD

Dean, School of Health and Human Services
Associate Professor of Public Health
Saint Monica American International University
University of Buea
silawrence2011@gmail.com

 

KENYA

Onesmus Gachuno

Onesmus Gachuno, MBChB, MMed

Lecturer, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
College of Health Sciences
University of Nairobi
owgachuno@yahoo.com

Odero

Theresa Odero, MSc, RN

Senior Lecturer, School of Nursing Sciences
College of Health Sciences,
University of Nairobi
theresama.odero@gmail.com

 

UGANDA

Damali Nakanjako

Damalie Nakanjako, MBChB, MMed, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Internal Medicine
College of Health Sciences,
Makerere University
dnakanjako@gmail.com

Nelson Sewankambo

Nelson Sewankambo, MBChB, MMed, MSc

Principal, College of Health Sciences,
Makerere University
sewankam@infocom.co.ug

 

TANZANIA

David Urassa

David Urassa, PhD

Dean and Associate Professor, School of Public Health
Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences
durassa2@yahoo.co.uk

Edith Tarimo

Edith Tarimo, PhD

Associate Dean, School of Nursing
Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences
etarimo54@yahoo.co.uk

 

UNITED STATES

Yukari Manabe

Yukari C. Manabe, MD

Professor of Medicine, International Health and Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD 21205, USA
ymanabe@jhmi.edu

Kevin Ousman

Kevin B Ousman, RN, MSN-HSM

African Health Resource Group
Baltimore MD, USA
kevinousman@aherginternational.com

Susan A. Chapman PhD, RN

Professor, Department of Social & Behavioral Sciences
School of Nursing
University of California, San Francisco
Susan.Chapman@ucsf.edu

Rochelle Dicker

Rochelle Dicker, MD

Professor, Department Surgery and Anesthesia
School of Medicine
University of California, San Francisco
Rochelle.Dicker@ucsf.edu

photo of Polomano

Rosemary C. Polomano, PhD, RN, FAAN

Professor of Pain Practice
University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing
polomanr@nursing.upenn.edu

Douglas Wiebe

Douglas J. Wiebe, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Epidemiology
School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
dwiebe@exchange.upenn.edu

Gabrielle O'Malley

Gabrielle O'Malley, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Global Health
Director of Implementation Science, International Training and Education Center for Health
University of Washington
gomalley@uw.edu

Joachim Voss

Joachim Voss, RN, PhD, RN, ACRN

Professor, School of Nursing
Director, Sarah Cole Hirsh Center for Evidence Based
Practice, Case Western University
joachim.voss@case.edu

blank

Judith N. Wasserheit, MD, MPH

Chair, Department of Global Health
Professor of Global Health & Medicine
University of Washington
jwasserh@u.washington.edu

blank

Kristen N. Hosey, DNP, RN, APHN-BC

Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Psychosocial & Community Health
School of Nursing
University of Washington
khosey@uw.edu